Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

shadow_bone_sketch_castle

(https://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Grisha-Trilogy-Leigh-Bardugo/dp/1250027438/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1489966713&sr=8-1&keywords=shadow+and+bone)

 

This book really caught my interest right off the bat. It is also a relatively fast read which was nice.  This book was written in first person which is probably my favorite way for a book to be written. I think that this trilogy is going to be one that I do end up loving. The biggest issue I had with the story was that there wasn’t a lot of world building. The reader is just thrust into the world and expected to figure out things without much explanation given. I don’t know that that necessarily detracts from the story though. It was a pain in the beginning but once I got into the story I really didn’t care all that much about the lack of world building.

I really liked Alina’s character. I related to her quite a bit; especially her desire to belong somewhere since I have that same desire. I think that the book was a tad bit predictable though. I guessed relatively early on what the ‘plot twist’ was going to be but I am partially wondering if the author meant for it to be predictable?

Not much happened within the story until the last 40%-30% of the book. Mostly it just dealt with Alina’s training and learning a bit about the Grisha school. However, that didn’t mean that it was boring. There was action in some parts and seeing Alina come into her magic was nice as well.

I feel that this book was a great read and even though it was predictable I didn’t find myself disappointed.

I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment